TIU’s Response to the COVID-19 Infection (May 28 ,2020 update)

To students, faculty and staff,

As reported daily, the new coronavirus is spreading around the world.
The following is the current information on border enforcement measures by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ website.

Denial of permission to entry
For the time being, foreign nationals categorized below are denied permission to enter Japan, unless exceptional circumstances are found.
Foreigners who have stayed in any of the following countries/regions/cities/provinces within 14 days prior to the application for landing:

Note that foreigners (including those from the countries and regions where the entry bans do not apply) who will arrive in Japan with a flight via any of the below 111 countries or regions which are subject to denial of permission to entry, with a purpose of refueling or transit, will also be denied entry into Japan in principle. This will apply regardless of whether they have entered those countries or regions or not. Foreigners from the countries and regions, where visa restrictions do not apply, will also be subject to entry bans if transiting through the 111 countries or regions.


■ (Asia)

Bangladesh, Brunei, China, India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam.


Australia, New Zealand

■(North America)

Canada, United States of America

■(Latin America and the Caribbean)

Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Uruguay


Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican.

■(Middle East)

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates


Cabo Verde, Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritius, Morocco, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa


■ Foreigners who have Chinese passports issued in Hubei Province or Zhejiang Province of China


■ Foreigners who were on the cruise ship Westerdam, departed from Hong Kong

For more information regarding border enforcement measures and exceptions of such, please refer to the links below.

Border enforcement measures (Ministry of Foreign Affairs Overseas Safety Website)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Overseas Safety Website

Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare homepage

Cabinet Secretariat Homepage

National Infectious Disease Website

Scroll to Top